The Student Room Group
Chemistry Research, Durham University
Durham University
Durham
Visit website

St Aidan's College

I just got an offer from St Aidan's, and it's completely the opposite of the college I originally applied to (Josephine Butler). Does anyone know what it's like, will I enjoy it there?

Btw, I'm going to study Engineering :smile:
Reply 1
Hah. Exact same thing happened to me. Re-allocated from Butler. I'm studying Politics
Chemistry Research, Durham University
Durham University
Durham
Visit website
Reply 2
Are you going to the Open Day Residential in March?
Reply 3
Yup, they haven't told us much about it though.
Hello both!

It would be easier if you had any specific questions, but for now:

I am a second year undergraduate and I am at Aidan's (but live out in my second year). St Aidan's is actually a wonderful college. Whilst it will seem enormously different to Josephine Butler (not self catered, possibility of shared rooms) I think the better to way to look at it is Josephine Butler is different to pretty much every other college in Durham. Only a very small proportion of students self cater in first year. Aidan's, like the majority of colleges (in Durham city) is catered, but the food is usually reckoned to be good. There is plenty of choice and while people always complain about it, it is of a high standard considering it is all mass catering. People also find making friends is easiest in colleges with catered food as you can meet everyone in college easily and share meal times with them, rather than being separated off into flats. Josephine Butler has its own stereotype of being elusive and less involved in Durham life, partly because it seems so far away and partly because it is so different.