The Student Room Group

Help! Terms of Trade?

If the exchange rate falls, import prices will rise, so ToT worsens.

But does ToT also worsen because export prices fall? Tutor2u & Economicshelp say so, but my college lecturer disagrees.

His argument is that, for example:

Initially, you sell exports at £50.
After your currency depreciates, your export price remains at £50 (but it is now cheaper for foreign countries to buy your exports). ToT is measured in domestic currency (is it?), so export prices remain constant.

I think my lecturer is right, but the online sources are confusing me. I haven't been able to find clarification from any other sources, so please help! :frown:

(I'm studying Edexcel A-Level Economic, by the way.)
Reply 1
Original post by allycsf
If the exchange rate falls, import prices will rise, so ToT worsens.

But does ToT also worsen because export prices fall? Tutor2u & Economicshelp say so, but my college lecturer disagrees.

His argument is that, for example:

Initially, you sell exports at £50.
After your currency depreciates, your export price remains at £50 (but it is now cheaper for foreign countries to buy your exports). ToT is measured in domestic currency (is it?), so export prices remain constant.

I think my lecturer is right, but the online sources are confusing me. I haven't been able to find clarification from any other sources, so please help! :frown:

(I'm studying Edexcel A-Level Economic, by the way.)

Here's my logic:

A fall in the exchange rate makes exports more price competitive relative to imports. As a result, the terms of trade declines, because it is defined as the ratio of export prices to import prices (i.e. how many imports can I purchase for the sale of exports?). So the decline in the terms of trade results from a) the increased price of imports and b) the decreased price of exports.