The Student Room Group

Postgrad study : US vs. UK

Hi there, I'm an undergrad studying molecular biology & genetics.Although I'm a second year I'm quite freaked out, would be glad if you helped me sort this out by sharing your experiences/opinions.

First, in the US students directly apply a phd and i have to take GRE.This seems a bit scary because i don't fancy examinations (i know, nobody does) and it might be ridiculous but i think like "I'm too young to be doctor!" :biggrin: phds last in 5-6 years, do you think this is a waste of time? In the UK it lasts in 3 years as far as i know, can we say that UK system has more academic rigor? Also in the us admissions are much more merit based, i feel like literally everybody can do a phd in us, do you think doing a phd in uk is more valuable?Because some people told me doing postgrad study in us is pointless unless you get into an ivy college.

Also which one is more advantageous : phd or msc+phd ?

That's all i can think of right now but you can compare any aspect you want or you can just share you experiences anything would be helpful :smile:
Reply 1
Do a PhD in the US if you want to work in the US or feel like you need/want the additional coursework and teaching. If you want to focus on your research, stay in the UK. Never go to a crappy university, neither in the US nor in the UK.

I wouldn't do a MSc before going into a US PhD. A MSc seems redundant in that case.
(edited 9 years ago)
Reply 2
Original post by Zefiros
Do a PhD in the US if you want to work in the US or feel like you need/want the additional coursework and teaching. If you want to focus on your research, stay in the UK. Never go to a crappy university, neither in the US nor in the UK.

I wouldn't do a MSc before going into a US PhD. A MSc seems redundant in that case.

I don't know where i wanna live but i really don't have any teaching skills.
Reply 3
Original post by geneticist