The Student Room Group
Studying in halls, University of Cambridge
University of Cambridge
Cambridge

English masters at Oxbridge

I've been looking at courses in English/cultural studies in the UK. I found the MPhil in Criticism and Culture course at Cambridge, and have been drawn back to the page several times since then. Unfortunately for me, it IS Cambridge and I can only imagine the competition.

Oxford's MSt in English (World Literatures in English) also got me interested. The reason I'm asking about Oxbridge is because of the additional scholarship opportunities. I'm an overseas student, and the fees are more than what I'd earn in a couple of years.

I was wondering if I stood a chance at all. How crazy is the competition? Any idea what the equivalent grades are for Indian degrees? How important is the research proposal? Any advice on this, and any other related courses would be really appreciated.

Also, any one else here applying for these (or similar) courses?
Reply 1
Original post by plain_jane42
The reason I'm asking about Oxbridge is because of the additional scholarship opportunities. I'm an overseas student, and the fees are more than what I'd earn in a couple of years.

I was wondering if I stood a chance at all. How crazy is the competition? Any idea what the equivalent grades are for Indian degrees? How important is the research proposal? Any advice on this, and any other related courses would be really appreciated.

The competition for places is tough, but people do get in. It's not all Oxford and Cambridge graduates, too: in fact, I think there are usually only a minority of them in each masters cohort. Competition for funding is fiercer still but again, people do win those scholarships. But yeah, it's tough.