The Student Room Group

Historical Investigation or Extended Essay...

Poll

Is this topic better as a Historical Investigation or an Extended Essay?

I am an IB Student who is very interested in History. I want to do an research paper on whether WWI/The Great War had greater world influence than WWII/The Second World War.

But I was wondering whether this topic would make a better subject for a Historical Investigation or for the Extended Essay? because Iread that you cant write about the same thing for both assignments, that is true, right?
Reply 1
Yeah it sounds true. Well I think one of the important things to look at is word count.

EE = 3500-4000
Historical Investigation is 2000 I think.

So how many words do you need?
Also if you choose to do one or the other, you still need another topic for the other. :smile:

So I suggest you try to think of another topic and then decide.
Another suggestion is that you talk to your EE supervisor, and history teacher.
Reply 2
Historical investigation is 1500 maximum I think - this research topic is better suited to the EE, otherwise you do not have a sufficient word count to explain it. You are so stupid for not realising this.
Reply 3
Or maybe he was asking a question, no need to call him stupid.

Speed, I think I'll suggest you do your EE on this topic. I would however check with your history teacher that you are able to meet the history EE requirements just in case :smile:

http://194.3.120.243/humanities/ibhist/coursework/extended_essay/index.htm
Some history EE examples you can check.
Reply 4
yea u cnt take do the same topic for pieces of work that u submit as an internal...so its either EE or historical

i wud suggest EE - much more words to work with
To be honest I think even for EE that might be a bit broad because you're going to have to write about the wars' influences in every area and then compare it. Maybe you should limit your question to a a few spheres of influence only.
Reply 6