The Student Room Group

Should I take Maths A-level?

Hi,
I chose maths as one of my a-level options and i just want to know how difficult it is. I got a B at GCSE and i was a few marks off an A so how hard would it be for me to get an A or a B at AS? I am wondering if I put a lot of time in and try my hardest if I could get an A or at least a B. Thanks a lot :smile:
Hey what else are you taking ?

Posted from TSR Mobile
I'm also taking maths a level this year and I've heard it is quite a challenge. You need to enjoy it to get through it is what I've heard from mostly everyone. But it is possible to get an A or a B at a level if you don't neglect it and do extra work :smile:

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 3
AS maths isn't too hard, in fact a lot of people I know found AS maths easier since the questions are less "wordy" than at GCSE
My cousin got a B at GCSE and fluked Maths a levels. I was a B grade student at GCSE and have been strongly discouraged from taking maths a level. It's a gamble that's only worth taking if you feel confident with the A/A* material at GCSE level
Reply 5
No. My friend got a B at gcse and an E at AS. Unis dont really care what the subject is unless applying for maths at uni! just dont.
The vast majority of people who are successful in maths A level would have got an A/A* at maths GCSE with a large proportion getting A*s. Indeed, there may be some people who get A*s at GCSE but may struggle to get an A at A level though I would expect this to be a minority of people. Given your B grade at GCSE, I would say only take maths A level if it's essential to your future university/career plans.
Reply 7