The Student Room Group

computing/computerscience/networking

I want to study computer science at uni since it seems to be what most tech companies like Microsoft want.

Is it possible to get on with

BTEC extended L3 D*D*D*
and only 2-3 gcses (done at college)?

Is maths ( my weak point) a strong requirement?

i couldn't do gcses cause i dropped out of school which also meant i could not do a levels

and if a levels is required, can i get do a levels with my small number of gcses (as 4-5 is minimum from what i have seen)

thanks,
(edited 8 years ago)
Reply 1
What university are you thinking? I know that most of them require a minimum of 5 GCSE's at a level of A* to C to study most computer based courses. What are your current GCSE's as well?

I am currently studying the same course as you and hoping to achieve the same grade.
Reply 2
Original post by abutawheed
I want to study computer science at uni since it seems to be what most tech companies like Microsoft want.

Is it possible to get on with

BTEC extended L3 D*D*D*
and only 2-3 gcses (done at college)?

Is maths ( my weak point) a strong requirement?

i couldn't do gcses cause i dropped out of school which also meant i could not do a levels

and if a levels is required, can i get do a levels with my small number of gcses (as 4-5 is minimum from what i have seen)

thanks,

CompSci is a much more academic course than you might be thinking of. It requires a good standard of maths, with A at A-level (or equivalent) often specified at many unis.

Have you researched the content of these courses?

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 3
Original post by Cicca205
What university are you thinking? I know that most of them require a minimum of 5 GCSE's at a level of A* to C to study most computer based courses. What are your current GCSE's as well?

I am currently studying the same course as you and hoping to achieve the same grade.

with these grades:

english a*
maths: c