The Student Room Group

Engineering and Maths

I’m quite bad at maths for my year (am at a grammar school) and i’ve always liked the idea of engineering. However, it’s very maths based, and as I say, i’m not that great at it. If i’m not good at maths, should I just think of something else to do?
Well I know you've heard this a million times before but practice makes perfect. Don't give up on something that you're into, instead show your commitment by revising, going over your notes, taking in all the lessons step by step and slowly, and one of the best ways to get better at Maths is take pass papers.
Original post by linedpaper
I’m quite bad at maths for my year (am at a grammar school) and i’ve always liked the idea of engineering. However, it’s very maths based, and as I say, i’m not that great at it. If i’m not good at maths, should I just think of something else to do?

What do you mean by bad at maths?

Some people take longer to learn maths. If you are not able to do A-level maths because your GCSE grade excludes you, but are still keen on an engineering career, seriously consider the HNC/HND engineering apprentice route. Without a good A-level maths, you will not get onto a university engineering degree unfortunately.

With the vocational type courses, BTEC etc., the maths is taught much like at school, but at a slower pace, giving time for the concepts to sink in.

I know of at least two people who hated maths at school and went up that route. Eventually gaining a 1st in engineering. It's perfectly possible, you just need to persevere.
(edited 6 years ago)
Original post by uberteknik
What do you mean by bad at maths?

Some people take longer to learn maths. If you are not able to do A-level maths because your GCSE grade excludes you, but are still keen on an engineering career, seriously consider the HNC/HND engineering apprentice route. Without a good A-level maths, you will not get onto a university engineering degree unfortunately.