The Student Room Group

Cambridge Maths - STEP papers in Year 12

I'm a rising Year 12 student and I've just finished A Level Maths and AS Further Maths (FP1 option) content. I want to maximise my chances of getting an offer to study Maths at Cambridge and I'm told that sitting the STEP papers before the interview and getting 111 or above will likely lead to an unconditional offer given that I don't completely flop the interview (not sure if this true).

For those who plan on applying or are studying Maths at Cambridge - how common is it to see students who have sat the three STEP papers before the interview? Does it actually lead to an unconditional?
if you are applying for 2019 entry you can't do step before the interview, interview is december 2018 and step is june 2019
Original post by yolkie
if you are applying for 2019 entry you can't do step before the interview, interview is december 2018 and step is june 2019

I'm applying for 2020 entry. I haven't entered Sixth form yet. I'd sit STEP papers June 2019 and apply the following October but I'm not sure if focusing on STEP over A Levels right now is the right choice.
Original post by flourpot
I'm applying for 2020 entry. I haven't entered Sixth form yet. I'd sit STEP papers June 2019 and apply the following October but I'm not sure if focusing on STEP over A Levels right now is the right choice.

Well you don't have much other maths to do
I'm a rising Year 12 student and I've just finished A Level Maths and AS Further Maths (FP1 option) content. I want to maximise my chances of getting an offer to study Maths at Cambridge and I'm told that sitting the STEP papers before the interview and getting 111 or above will likely lead to an unconditional offer given that I don't completely flop the interview (not sure if this true).