The Student Room Group

PwC Technology Flying Start Degree Apprenticeship 2021

Wanted to start a thread to find other people thinking about applying. How's everyone preparing? What unis does everyone want to do it at? :smile:

Scroll to see replies

Sorry, not another person thinking of applying but I am currently a second year student on the programme at Leeds. So if anyone at any point on this thread wants to ask questions then feel free.
Original post by kammak743
Sorry, not another person thinking of applying but I am currently a second year student on the programme at Leeds. So if anyone at any point on this thread wants to ask questions then feel free.

absl g, thanks :smile: any advice on how to prepare? How's Leeds as a uni?
Preparation
Make sure to look after yourself at this time. Keep up with your studies.
Choose which universities you want to apply for. I applied for Leeds and Birmingham with PwC but of course I have to say Leeds is better!!

Remember that, unusually for a degree apprenticeship, you apply directly to the universities via ucas. This means you need to get your personal statement sorted for that but for computing I'm not sure they care too much.
If the uni accepts you then you get through to a fairly standard PwC application process. This has changed since my year but you can find people discussing the fairly current process on similar studentroom threads from previous years. The best place for the application process is PwC's employability hub. It looks incredibly helpful and comprehensive now. Also find examples of you demonstrating "PwC professional" qualities.

Leeds uni
The uni is great and seems to balance everything really well. It has it's plusses and minuses like everywhere but I don't know anyone who isn't at least reasonably happy with it.