The Student Room Group

Realistic masters options?

So I graduated this June, with a 'good' 2:1 in History (average 66%) from Cambridge. Slightly disappointed with this final mark as previously I had been working at a 'high' 2:1 level, and I am thinking about applying for a Masters in Management or a Masters in Public Policy.

I'm not delusional enough to think I have a shot at the top unis for management as someone with little work experience in the area and average grades, but I'm wondering what realistic options there are for me? I have much more experience/relevant academics for the Public Policy courses, but Management would be more in line for my future career goals...

I know I meet the minimum requirements for most Masters courses, but I feel like this year will be extra competitive (seems like everyone except me has managed to achieve a First or a high 2:1) and will have more applicants generally because of the state of the economy. So essentially I'm wondering which unis I would actually stand a chance with if I apply?

Also, how hard is it to be admitted to a non-UK European university as a UK student? Are the standards higher or lower for admission than they are for RG unis? It would be my dream to study abroad, but I don't want to get my hopes up for nothing.
Reply 1
Have you looked at City University in London? They are highly regarded in Business and Management etc
Reply 2
Original post by Moana92
Have you looked at City University in London? They are highly regarded in Business and Management etc

I would rather avoid London unis, to be honest.
It's generally pretty straightforward to gain admission to EU universities as a UK university graduate, although there will be exceptions for more competitive programs like at the top Grandes Ecoles. Your main worry should be costs.
Reply 4
Original post by Helloworld_95