The Student Room Group

Does It Matter What Grade You Receive In Mental Health Nursing?

I’m on track for a third or at most a 2:2 in Mental health Nursing which I’m disappointed about :frown:.
I thrive in all my placements and never failed 1. I just really struggle in the academic side of things.
Can anyone give me any hope ?

Thank you
Original post by Samedwards2000
I’m on track for a third or at most a 2:2 in Mental health Nursing which I’m disappointed about :frown:.
I thrive in all my placements and never failed 1. I just really struggle in the academic side of things.
Can anyone give me any hope ?

Thank you

No, it doesn't matter what grade you get in your nursing degree. You're on track to pass - which is what you need in order to get your NMC registration and therefore a job!

When I applied, and interviewed, for my band 5 job, I was a 3rd year student at the time. I interviewed in the February, qualified in the September, started my job in the October.
Did the person specification state a certain grade in nursing degree as essential? No. There's a lot of nurses out there who started their nurse training before degree level education became mandatory/the only way of becoming a registered nurse.
Did I get asked at any point what grade I was on track/aiming for? No. 3.5 years later, this still doesn't get asked.
The stipulations of me starting my band 5 job were 1) I got my NMC registration, which was dependent on me passing my degree (HR wanted to see it) 2) my DBS was fine 3) I passed occupational health checks.
How often do I get asked what grade I got? I don't. At the time, family and coursemates asked. My colleagues and patients don't because it genuinely doesn't matter.

Both my husband and brother-in-law are nurses. In 10 years since they both qualified, they've each had a few different jobs and have never been asked what grade they got.