The Student Room Group

Chances of Getting a Pupillage (mid tier Uni)

Hello all,

I'm currently pursuing a degree in Business Management with Arabic at the University of Sussex. Recently I've developed a deep interest in law & specifically becoming a barrister (commercial) and was wondering what my chances are.

I was hoping to get do a conversion / GDL after my degree. From what I was reading online things seem bleak but hopefully my experience could help?

I have lots of experience relating to Business:

- Currently completing placement year at top tech company (FAANG)
- Created business with $45,000+ revenue & 27% profit margin
- Received multiple academic awards and scholarships
- On track for high first (letter from Dean where I'm top 5% in my course)
- A-Levels were AAA

Could anybody please let me know my chances / best ways I can achieve this in my situation.

@Crazy Jamie might be able to give some insight into it?

I imagine the academic stuff is all promising, not sure how the placements/business background track but may be useful transferable experience to draw from in interview?
The academics looks good so far. The business placements are not entirely relevant, but equally you could make some use of them in the context of pursuing a commercial practice. The Commercial Bar in particular is extremely competitive compared to other areas, so you do need to bear that in mind, but at this stage there is nothing fundamentally about what you've written that makes me think it's not realistic for you. But you're at a very early stage of this, and it is important that you do your research at this stage and then focus on strengthening your CV and developing your skills in a way that will be conducive to pupillage applications.
Reply 3