The Student Room Group

BMAT or UCAS

Hi all,

I am a Y12 A-Level Student. I am interested in studying Medicine at university. My top choice unis are Imperial and UCL. I am aware that these universities only require the BMAT. Would it be a logical decision to just sit the BMAT and put my all to get the highest possible score rather than also revise for the UCAT and apply to schools I am not interested in at all? Please be aware that I REALLY want to go Imperial. I only really want to go there to study Medicine. UCL is pretty much a back-up option.
Reply 2

My year is the last set of applicants to be sitting the BMAT.
Reply 3
Original post by z4ra.x
Hi all,

I am a Y12 A-Level Student. I am interested in studying Medicine at university. My top choice unis are Imperial and UCL. I am aware that these universities only require the BMAT. Would it be a logical decision to just sit the BMAT and put my all to get the highest possible score rather than also revise for the UCAT and apply to schools I am not interested in at all? Please be aware that I REALLY want to go Imperial. I only really want to go there to study Medicine. UCL is pretty much a back-up option.

Which other unis will you be applying to? I think that it's better to take both.
(edited 12 months ago)
Reply 4
Original post by z4ra.x
Hi all,

Why Imperial? It's so toxic ...
Reply 5
Original post by ManUtd_21
Which other unis will you be applying to? I think that it's better to take both.

1) Imperial
2) UCL
3) Oxford
4) Brighton & Sussex

I am only really passionate about Imperial.
Reply 6
Original post by z4ra.x
1) Imperial
2) UCL
3) Oxford
4) Brighton & Sussex

Ahh, I believe that these universities also only require the BMAT? Well if you'll only be applying to BMAT universities then you should only take the BMAT. But I know that many people prefer to do both and will apply to at least 1 UCAT university, just in case things don't go to plan with the BMAT, they'll have a backup.
Reply 7
Original post by z4ra.x