The Student Room Group

AS physics

howd it go everyone
Reply 1
Original post by princjit
howd it go everyone

I did AQA physics AS, it was ****. How about you?
Think half marks is a worst scenario guess. It was a really difficult paper 1- one of the most difficult compared to past papers imo? 1-2 marker Q's were good and the 6 marker Q turned out not horrid, but tons of dumb mistakes on almost all 3-4 markers like mass of the arrow on the bow&arrow Q I'd say. Icing on the cake was defo the waves question, probably lucky to get 1 mark on that refractive index one. I got the answer to be around 2.4 but looking back now with a slightly different method maybe around 1.4?

Feel a bit disheartened, hoping paper 2 will make up for it
Reply 3
Original post by Oongie
I did AQA physics AS, it was ****. How about you?

Nah im a level student, just wanted to gauge how hard the AS paper was
Reply 4
Original post by just_pa55erbys
Think half marks is a worst scenario guess. It was a really difficult paper 1- one of the most difficult compared to past papers imo? 1-2 marker Q's were good and the 6 marker Q turned out not horrid, but tons of dumb mistakes on almost all 3-4 markers like mass of the arrow on the bow&arrow Q I'd say. Icing on the cake was defo the waves question, probably lucky to get 1 mark on that refractive index one. I got the answer to be around 2.4 but looking back now with a slightly different method maybe around 1.4?

Feel a bit disheartened, hoping paper 2 will make up for it

What topics did u have on it if u dont mind me asking?
Original post by princjit
What topics did u have on it if u dont mind me asking?

All topics 2-5 with the big exception of topic 1 (measurements&uncertainties) interestingly, so probably will be in paper 2? The 6 marker Q was on the polarisation of waves. In general, I think the biggest topic focuses (in order) were mechanics, esp. force+power (2 Q's out of 6 on it), waves and particle physics
Reply 6