The Student Room Group
De Montfort University
De Montfort University
Leicester
Visit website

Day in a Life of a Final Year Animation Student

Hello there!

My name is Jesse. I am a recent Animation Graduate. Here’s a little snapshot of a typical day for me during the last stretch before I submitted my FYP (Final Year Project). Little side note, I’ll be describing a day during the Production stage of my short film. By this stage, I’m all hands on deck on purely animating.

After fighting my alarm clock countless times, I would eventually start my day around 8 AM. I would give myself an hour to freshen up and have breakfast. Thankfully I live just outside my Campus, so I didn’t need to rush to my class that started at 10 AM.

My morning class would last from 10 AM to 1 PM - review for an hour and then amend and change for the rest of the lesson. The review process consisted of watching back my animatic. I discussed the composition, timing, and acting in the shot. By the end of the review, we would discuss how to improve it.

Depending on how much I get done, I would either have a work-in lunch or go to a nearby café with my classmates. More often than not, I do tend to have a work-in lunch. I always find it difficult to stop when I get into the zone of animating.

The afternoon class would start at 2 PM and last another 3 hours. Although our tutor was present in the lab, I would resume the work I started in the morning and request feedback if needed. I would wrap things up around 5 PM and head back home. Whilst home, I either napped or got ready for Taekwondo training at my university’s leisure centre.

I recommend joining a sports club or a society at university. It will allow you to detach yourself from your work and return to it with fresh eyes the next day. After training, I would eat meal-prepped food I made on the weekend and crash soon after.