The Student Room Group

Worth to change major? BME to Chem Eng

Hello everyone! I'm an upcoming undergraduate student in the UK and need some advice. I've been admitted to the University of Leeds to study medical engineering. However, during my research, I came across information suggesting that there might be limited job opportunities just with a bachelor's degree compared to other engineering majors. I've also heard that people with mechanical or chemical engineering backgrounds can often do the same jobs as biomedical engineers.

Considering that I plan to work for a few years before pursuing a master's degree and need to support myself financially, I want to make a realistic decision. BME genuinely interests me, but I'm unsure about the potential career prospects. On the other hand, I have an opportunity to apply for chemical engineering at Queen's University Belfast and also get the chance to apply to biomedical science at other universities.

I would greatly appreciate advice from people who have pursued BME, chemical engineering, or biomedical science or even switched between the two fields. The BME program at my university has a mechanical engineering focus for the first two years. I want to make sure I make an informed choice that aligns with my career goals and provides stability. Thank you so much for the help!
Original post by _greyson_
Hello everyone! I'm an upcoming undergraduate student in the UK and need some advice. I've been admitted to the University of Leeds to study medical engineering. However, during my research, I came across information suggesting that there might be limited job opportunities just with a bachelor's degree compared to other engineering majors. I've also heard that people with mechanical or chemical engineering backgrounds can often do the same jobs as biomedical engineers.