The Student Room Group
City campus, Sheffield Hallam University
Sheffield Hallam University
Sheffield
Visit website

Welcome to Hallam!

Hey there!

By now most of you will be packing up your stuff to get ready to move and start you university journey at Hallam! I imagine a lot of you are feeling nervous and excited for what's to come and I just know you'll love every second of your experience and your time at Hallam!

As a third year student myself, I thought I'd share some bits and pieces of information I wish I'd known before I moved to get yourselves prepared and ready for the move to make your first few weeks as stress-free as possible.

1) Move-in day
By now you've probably got all your essentials bought and packed ready for the big move. For the day I'd recommend making sure you have with you: a roll of toilet paper at home because you might need the loo when you get there, a portable charger (your phone might have died by the time you get there and you'll need your phone for all your accommodation information so a portable charger will help rather than you routing through all the boxes), some sort of portable fan (a prewarning your rooms will be hot, the windows will have been closed during the summer so it'll be very hot when you move in so dress accordingly). One of the first things I recommend doing is if you have an ice cube tray, filling it up and putting it in the freezer for the end of the day when you're tired and dehydrated from carrying boxes. Either that or you could bring some bottles of water and stick them in the fridge as soon as you walk in the door. It's so easy to get stressed with your family/friends because you're tired from heavy lifting and believe me the heat around this time causes many arguments and stress from the move, just try to keep your cool and enjoy the process because once you're all settled in it's all done and dusted. You won't have to do it again until the end of the year :biggrin: .

2) Welcome Week