The Student Room Group

Unsure on which Unis to shortlist

N/A
(edited 7 months ago)
Just apply to 2 for now and add your other three to your application after Christmas (but before the deadline) when you’ve had time to do more research and visit more.
Original post by LucasGeography
Hello, deciding on which Universities to shortlist, I'm just sharing the following ones which I'm considering- was just wondering if there were any red flags, or significantly weaker choices? Greatly apricated,
For context I want to study both Human and Physical Geography, however more 3:1 in favour of the human elements.
Here is the list:

Cambridge
UCL
LSE
Warwick
Sheffield
Bristol
Loughborough
Manchester
Durham
Southampton
Leeds
Lancaster
York

Also I need to decide which would be best suited between LSE and UCL- Thank you.

Hi!
I'm currently in my 2nd year at Lancaster studying Physical Geography. Lancaster do a range of geography degrees with the BA Geography being a mix of human and physical geography but with slightly more on the human side, or there's the BA in Human Geography which is predominately human. However, the Human modules you are able to pick in both these degrees are pretty similar, so it would maybe depend more about how much physical geography you want to do and which modules your most interested in. At Lancaster you can also do a year studying abroad or a placement year if this is something you're interested in. I'll attach both the pages for these degrees below so you can see the difference and the module options!

BA Geography - https://www.lancaster.ac.uk/study/undergraduate/courses/geography-ba-hons-l700/2024/
BA Human Geography - https://www.lancaster.ac.uk/study/undergraduate/courses/human-geography-ba-hons-l720/2024/

If you've got any further questions about studying geography at Lancaster or Lancaster in General feel free to ask.
-Jasmine (Lancaster Student Ambassador)