The Student Room Group

Should I drop Psychology or French ? Need to decide by next week !

I’m currently studying Maths , Chemistry , French and Psychology. I need to drop either French or Psychology I can’t decide which one to drop . I’ve been told that it’s better to have 2 sciences for getting into uni rather than just having Chemistry. I got GCSE 7’s in Maths , Chemistry and French , never studied psychology before
Original post by Blueberrypop
I’m currently studying Maths , Chemistry , French and Psychology. I need to drop either French or Psychology I can’t decide which one to drop . I’ve been told that it’s better to have 2 sciences for getting into uni rather than just having Chemistry. I got GCSE 7’s in Maths , Chemistry and French , never studied psychology before

Have you any idea what courses you would likely be applying to university for?

If you're "currently studying" those four, does that mean you've literally started studying them (so you're in Year 12) or does it mean that you've been studying them for a year now (so you're in Year 13)?

Which do you enjoy more so far?

Hey @Blueberrypop,

I know it sounds corny, but the best advice really is to study what you're passionate about and what you'll enjoy the most - if you enjoy it, you'll likely do a lot better! A high grade in a subject you love and can talk lots about on your personal statement looks a lot better to universities than an 'average' grade in something you're taking just as a pre-requisite.

Even with these pre-requisite subjects though, often Maths is included with the sciences, as they're mostly just looking for indicators of general academic STEM ability and understanding. It's always worth double-checking with where you're applying though!