The Student Room Group

Are mocks important?

I did so badly on my mocks yesterday -I'm upset. I don't know what to do. I'm in Year 10 and it's my first time doing it. I have completely failed my plan. I don't know what to do. How will I survive Year 10 and Year 11? I'm so unprepared for it. I keep getting bad grades on tests and I'm so worried. What do I do? How can I learn how to study and revise?
Firstly chill, you are in year 10 doing badly in your mocks needs to be sorted but it isn’t a full on crisis. Also plans almost never work - it is great to have o r to keep you on track but don’t sweat if you stray from it. Finally when you get your mocks back identify what you did badly on a focus on that to start with and make sure you are understanding and consolidating new content that gets taught. That’s what I try to do although I am not great a consolidating new topics
Hope this helps
Reply 2
Original post by Nerolio
I did so badly on my mocks yesterday -I'm upset. I don't know what to do. I'm in Year 10 and it's my first time doing it. I have completely failed my plan. I don't know what to do. How will I survive Year 10 and Year 11? I'm so unprepared for it. I keep getting bad grades on tests and I'm so worried. What do I do? How can I learn how to study and revise?

you are okay these mocks are not important, you will get better in year 11 in my year 10 ones i was getting 4s in my first year 11 mocks i got 6/7s across all subjects and one or two 8s, i say active recall all the way make flashcards or get a blank piece of paper and write everything you know and then check it and add extras and past papers are a necessity
Reply 3