The Student Room Group

A level choices urgent

Hi,

This is really urgent, my friend needs to pick a levels very soon as the deadline is approaching. She is a really creative soul so she has already picked A level art. But she isn't quite sure of what to pick for her other two. I have tried helping but it seems like she doesn't quite like them to commit to it fully. What subjects could she possibly pick?

She did consider humanities e.g history? And maybe bio and chem. But as I mentioned she isn't too sure. She doesn't what to narrow it down so she could have many career paths incase she may not want to pursue e.g science. So I think art, humanity and maybe a science or social science may be alright?

Much appreciated for the advice in advance and thank you for taking your time to read it
-Trickia xx
(edited 6 months ago)

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
I'm a final year accounting student holding a graduate offer from a top 10 firm. For career paths, sometimes the degree subject doesnt matter. This is particularly the case with fields like accounting, finance or financial services/corporate finance (banking, financial markets etc). For other subjects, it does. If she is considering the above careers I mentioned as possible options, she doesnt have to worry too much about what degree subject she does and therefore doesnt need to worry too much about picking mathematical or science based a levels.

Science based fields will matter though. My tip would be to ask her what fields she'd be interested in that would normally mean humanities subjects are good for. Law is one of such areas, but while they are an advantage, its not a requirement, plus it shouldnt be a big deal I dont think as scoring high in science based a levels shows a lot of intellect plus scoring high in the LNAT takes precedence I assume.