The Student Room Group
On campus at the University of Southampton
University of Southampton
Southampton
Visit website

Applying to Southampton for Masters with an Art background but not wanting to do Art

I’m a mature student, I got a degree in 2010, high 2:1 from a prestigious art institution (average percentage for end of year assessment was 74, but they used the 85 mark for a first due to the large amount of firsts the previous year).

My degree involved a lot of essay writing and was not applied, it was very theoretical. However, over time I’ve moved away from “art” and into other fields. I’m interested in business, ethics, sustainability, and use these in my employment and also self employment. I’d like to apply for a masters which suits what I am interested in now, and what I have worked with. However, I notice quite a few master’s programmes at Southampton specifically state you can’t apply for them if you have done “art” in your former education. I think that’s fair enough, but I wondered whether on the masters programmes which don’t specifically warn me off, do I still have a chance of getting on them? Or will my choice of subject at undergrad put Southampton off?
Reply 1
Original post by ImaginaryIcon
I’m a mature student, I got a degree in 2010, high 2:1 from a prestigious art institution (average percentage for end of year assessment was 74, but they used the 85 mark for a first due to the large amount of firsts the previous year).