The Student Room Group

Maths worries and Nursing

Hi, any advice would be so appreciated. I am on my 1st Year of a Psychology degree and I’m really enjoying my part time role working as a support worker for children with Learning disabilities and complex care needs.
I am seriously thinking of changing my course and applying to the Nursing degree for Learning Disabilities at the same uni. It’s a hard decision as I enjoy the course that I am studying and I feel like it’s a big gamble. I’m confident within my role, academic writing and personal qualifications for nursing. My biggest fear is the maths, and that it’s a very weak subject for me. I know the medication test results have to be 100% correct to continue to the following year. Is there anyone that can share their experiences with me? It would be so appreciated.
Many Thanks
Reply 1
Original post by EJD13
Hi, any advice would be so appreciated. I am on my 1st Year of a Psychology degree and I’m really enjoying my part time role working as a support worker for children with Learning disabilities and complex care needs.
I am seriously thinking of changing my course and applying to the Nursing degree for Learning Disabilities at the same uni. It’s a hard decision as I enjoy the course that I am studying and I feel like it’s a big gamble. I’m confident within my role, academic writing and personal qualifications for nursing. My biggest fear is the maths, and that it’s a very weak subject for me. I know the medication test results have to be 100% correct to continue to the following year. Is there anyone that can share their experiences with me? It would be so appreciated.
Many Thanks

Im currently 2nd year on mental health nursing.

The medication "exam" you only have to get 100% in third year, think it was 69% in first year, 80% second then 100% third. But you can have a calculator (theres a calculator on the system) and you can access loads of practice questions.