The Student Room Group

Flatsharing next year

Hi all. I'm a Y1 student currently, so I'm staying in uni halls. It's been comfortable I really like my accommodation. I've already decided who I'd flatshare with next year, namely some of my friends. In theory, living with them sounds lovely for a couple reasons:
1. I get along with them
2. I only have to share a kitchen with 3 other people instead of 10
3. If there's an issue, I can bring it up more easily (and should hopefully be resolved easier too, since it's just 4 of us)

So basically, in theory, it sounds like it should be wonderful. But are there any downsides I haven't considered/could know? Besides just the living conditions of the flat we'll live in (obviously). Thanks!
Original post by Anonymous #1
Hi all. I'm a Y1 student currently, so I'm staying in uni halls. It's been comfortable I really like my accommodation. I've already decided who I'd flatshare with next year, namely some of my friends. In theory, living with them sounds lovely for a couple reasons:
1. I get along with them
3. If there's an issue, I can bring it up more easily (and should hopefully be resolved easier too, since it's just 4 of us)

So basically, in theory, it sounds like it should be wonderful. But are there any downsides I haven't considered/could know? Besides just the living conditions of the flat we'll live in (obviously). Thanks!

Hi there!

If you've already lived with your potential flat mates for next year, I'm sure you'll be able to judge what they're like to live with already. I prefer a smaller flat size, so 4 should be quite nice and you're right - it is easier to resolve things and have a tidier space when there are less of you.