The Student Room Group

Travel from Uni accommodation to Uni

Hey! Just a quick and curious question, how long will you be willing to travel from your uni accommodation (wherever you’re renting) to university? Would a 40 min bus/walk travel be too much?
(edited 2 months ago)
Original post by josikageorge
Hey! Just a quick and curious question, how long will you be willing to travel from your uni accommodation (wherever you’re renting) to university? Would a 40 min bus/walk travel be too much?
Hi @josikageorge

I personally chose to live a 15 minute walk away from uni in student halls for my second year, as I wanted to be able to head into uni easily without having to worry about public transport. I'm also a design student so I often have lots to carry which impacted my decision.

I do, however, have friends on the same course who live about a 30/40 minute bus ride away from campus and don't mind it at all, especially as the rent is cheaper in a student house. It all depends on whether you'd feel as motivated to travel to uni if you lived further away, and also what is best for budget. There is no wrong answer necessarily, but have a think about whether living further away would more likely help or hinder your situation.

Emily 🙂
Student Rep at BCU
Reply 2
Original post by BCU Student Rep
Hi @josikageorge

I personally chose to live a 15 minute walk away from uni in student halls for my second year, as I wanted to be able to head into uni easily without having to worry about public transport. I'm also a design student so I often have lots to carry which impacted my decision.