The Student Room Group

How do you build a portfolio as a computer science student?

Hi,

I'm currently in my first year of uni as a marketing student, but I'm really not enjoying it and am considering switching to computer science (a major change, I know haha). I'm interested in going into games design/development postgrad, but upon researching more into the degree and the role I want to move into, it seems a strong portfolio is essential to get your foot in the door in industry.

I don't have any sort of portfolio, as I have no experience in computer science at all and would be going into the degree blind. Can any CS students/graduates advise on how I'd go about building a portfolio during my studies? :smile:

Thanks in advance!
Reply 1
i personally didnt do cs but a good friend of mine got a job in gamedev (on the software/programming side) after doing a compsci degree - they did hackathons/game jams during uni, and made games as personal projects, and their final year project was a game engine from scratch using c++. these all went into a 'projects' section on the cv with info and github links
Reply 2
Original post by Dingnoom
Hi,

I'm currently in my first year of uni as a marketing student, but I'm really not enjoying it and am considering switching to computer science (a major change, I know haha). I'm interested in going into games design/development postgrad, but upon researching more into the degree and the role I want to move into, it seems a strong portfolio is essential to get your foot in the door in industry.

I don't have any sort of portfolio, as I have no experience in computer science at all and would be going into the degree blind. Can any CS students/graduates advise on how I'd go about building a portfolio during my studies? :smile:

Thanks in advance!