The Student Room Group

Physics A-Level

I really like astrophysics and general concepts of physics , however maths isn’t my strongest subject so is it worth choosing it for an A-Level or should I stick to my stronger subjects?
Reply 1
Original post by lau11011.1
I really like astrophysics and general concepts of physics , however maths isn’t my strongest subject so is it worth choosing it for an A-Level or should I stick to my stronger subjects?
im not very good at maths at all and i took physics as an A level, the only difficulty is understanding the concepts and equations, i think the math part is okay its only the equations and the equation derivatives that are difficult. the paper 1 for physics as is also the hardest paper in all of the as level
Hiya, I'm a current 3rd year astrophysics and cosmology student at Lancaster University. It's great to hear that you have a passion for astrophysics and general physics concepts! A-level physics can be challenging, and it does involve a significant amount of mathematics. However, it's not uncommon for students to excel in physics even if maths isn't their strongest subject.

If you're passionate about astrophysics and physics in general, pursuing it at A-level could be very rewarding. While there will be mathematical components, many students find that the real-world applications as well as theoretical approaches make the subject worth the effort.

That said, it's essential to consider your strengths and interests. If you're confident in your ability to improve your maths skills and are dedicated to putting in the necessary effort, pursuing A-level physics could be a fulfilling choice. However, if you feel that your strengths lie elsewhere and you have other subjects that you're equally passionate about, it's worth exploring those options as well.