The Student Room Group

Columbia to University of Cambridge

Currently, I'm a freshman at Columbia University, but due to a deep interest in medieval Germanic languages, literature, and culture, I'm considering "transferring" to the University of Cambridge to study in the Anglo Saxon, Norse, and Celtic Department (ASNC). I realize that there is no such thing as a "transfer" program at Cambridge, so by transfer, I mean that I would apply this year in October to enter in October 2010. Meanwhile, I would remain at Columbia University, and probably drop out in January 2010 were I to be admitted to Cambridge. I have a few questions, and any help would be greatly appreciated.

My primary question is whether this is a viable option or not. If I were admitted to the university, I would be entering in 2010 as a 20 year old; would this be strange?

As far as the application goes, I'm having a little trouble getting a complete picture of necessary materials. Since I'd be coming from Columbia, would I need recommendations from professors? from my dean? Would I be submitting high school grades as well as college grades?

Are my college grades good enough? In my first semester at Columbia I got an A- GPA (Dean's List) after taking 24 credits (about 6 more than the usual number). I'm looking to do better in the second semester.

Based on what Cambridge's website says, it looks like I'll have to submit SAT and AP scores. I got 660 Math, 790 Writing, and 800 Reading. Good, bad?

As far as AP scores go, I've read that they only look at AP scores which apply to the discipline you'll be studying. However, my high school was very limited in its AP offerings and I only took US History, French, and Calculus AB. I received 4, 3, 4, respectively, but obviously, none of those subject areas relate to what I'd be studying at Cambridge. Any thoughts? In addition to those scores, would any other testing be necessary?