The Student Room Group

Question on work experience

Hello everyone...I'm so sorry that I must start a new thread on work experience when there have been so many around here. I've searched the forums clean for any answer to my question but I can't seem to find any...

I want to get into medicine and I've just finished my GCSEs and going on to my AS levels next year. Problem is, I have NO work experience at all and seeing as how I've got the whole of the summer holidays free, I thought I might as well fill it up a little with work experience.

However, will it be too short notice to contact hospitals? I'm going to try anyway...but I've only done work experience once and that was through school so they dealt with the insurance side to it...so if I was to write letters and contact hospitals/surgeries/people's homes, etc, I understand that I'll take care of the insurance side to it...but will the hospitals know this? Will they contact me and ask for this information? Or will they assume something else?

Finally, will doing work experience in a social care service place be relevent to going into medicine? Only it's working with people under stress and the such so I feel I should give it a try.

I hope it all makes sense because I do have the tendency to make things a little confusing...

Thanks for any help I get at all. There'll be no more stupid threads like this from me, for sure; I'm just a little worried about this and you're all well informed people that I can ask.
Reply 1
It might not be too short notice, you can always try. Also try GP surgeries nearby, they're often quite useful.

Any kind of care environment is good :smile:
Reply 2
There's plenty of time as you can do some this summer and next summer. Your application to ucas won't go off till early in the A2 year.
Reply 3