The Student Room Group

PGCE - Subject Knowledge

I'm considering applying for a Secondary Computer Science & IT PGCE. My degree is in IT, and covered some aspects of programming, but obviously not as much as a CS degree.

I've been checking out the AQA and OCR syllabus and past papers, and while I'm confident enough with most of the GCSE teaching, I find the AS and A-Level work to be out of my scope.

My question is how much are you expected to know from the get-go? For those in CS/IT teaching, surely it's much harder if the schools you are placed at are teaching different programming languages than what you know?

I was going to shoot of an application for this September, but I'm considering waiting for next year, and spending this year getting up-to-scratch with programming concepts and A-Level work.

Advice? :smile:
Reply 1
I'm due to start my Computer Science PGCE in September but I'll give you some of my thoughts.

- You may as well apply for this September if you're up for it. If your subject knowledge isn't up to scratch then you may just get placed on a Subject Knowledge Enhancement (SKE) course to get you ready for September. Even if you aren't successful with your application, having experience of the application & interview process will be extremely valuable next year.

- As for teaching different programming languages, you have to remember that on the whole the programming will be fairly basic (Except for perhaps some A-Level Computing coursework). As a result, teaching a different programming language should not prove too difficult. If you have a good grasp of the core programming concepts, you should be fine.
Reply 2
Original post by Elmand
I'm due to start my Computer Science PGCE in September but I'll give you some of my thoughts.