The Student Room Group

English Coursework - Can I get an A*?

Hi Everyone!

For all the speaking coursework activities I have got an A, but in all of the writing coursework I have got A*s except from one which I have got an A in (but am working on to get it to A*). I'm unsure as to which coursework is for English Language or Literature. I am following AQA and in English Language, coursework is worth 40% overall (20% speaking, 20% writing), and English Literature coursework is worth 20%.

What I'd like to know is: Is it still possible for me to get an A* overall in both English Language and Literature, and how well would I have to do in the exams to get A*'s (if it's possible).

I would also appreciate it if someone could explain why there are 3 English exams, and what each exam is on?

Thanks!
Reply 1
I don't know about the coursework weightings because i'm not very good with maths liike that :s lol

But it sounds like your doing AQA B is this correct?

If so the 3 exams are:

Language Paper 1 - 1 Question on the Media texts from Section A of the pre-release booklet, 1 Question on an unseen Non-fiction piece and 1 question on writing to Argue, persuade and advise.

Language Paper 2 - 1 Poetry compasison question, one of the poems will be taken from section B of the pre-release and the other will be unseen and 1 question on writing to Analyse, Review and Comment.

Literature Paper - 1 Question for each text you studied fo the exam. You will have to answer 3 questions in total. For each text there will be a choice of 2 questions.

Hope that makes sence!