The Student Room Group

Aberdeen Medicine 2017 Entry

hey guys, so was looking around and I can't seem to find a discussion for Aberdeen 2017 entry so thought I'd make one, may be good for around interview time and stuff:smile:

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Looking to apply to Aberdeen as well. I am a graduate though :smile:
Reply 2
Gonna apply to Aberdeen! The course seems to be really good.
Does anyone know how Aberdeen uses personal statements?
Reply 4
Hey guys I'm currently a student on the Medicine course at Aberdeen, just ask me if you need any info or tips
Reply 5
Original post by hopeforunderdog
Does anyone know how Aberdeen uses personal statements?

Aberdeen use your personal statement during the interview as well as after your interview to determine between candidates who scored closely - it isn't looked at before you come to interview, the only thing scored pre-interview is academics and ukcat, good luck :smile:
Original post by hollyt93
Aberdeen use your personal statement during the interview as well as after your interview to determine between candidates who scored closely - it isn't looked at before you come to interview, the only thing scored pre-interview is academics and ukcat, good luck :smile:

Thank you!
Good luck to all you future applicants! Another Aberdeen student here, feel free to fire any questions my way.
Hello! Aberdeen is currently my top choice! I have 5A's at Higher, and Predicted A's in ADVH Maths, Chem, Bio.
VR - 670
QR - 750
AR - 680
Band 1 SJT

My biggest fear is despite relevant, good work experience (2 weeks) that I can talk about quite happily, I lack much (or any!) extracurricular shenanigans. How "perfect" would you say my personal statement needs to be to survive an interview at Aberdeen, and what sort of volume of extracurricular/volunteering stuff did yours mention?

And considering my situation, what would be the Scottish medschool you think I'd be least likely to get into?