The Student Room Group

Scoring an A/A* in Chemistry A levels

My only A-level subject this year is chemistry and I'd love to score a high grade. I'm studying very well and following the specifications provided by the syllabus but my only problem is answering paper 4 questions. I know the answers but the way my answer is structured leads me to losing marks. How can I improve my answering skills in terms of structure and language and how can I achieve my goal of getting an A? Any helpful tips or tricks?

Please make sure to check out this website! http://studywise.co.uk/a-level-revision/chemistry/
(edited 7 years ago)

Scroll to see replies

what exam board are u doing ?
Reply 2
Original post by pondsteps
what exam board are u doing ?

CIE
oh, i do edexcel
Do lots of past papers. For questions that you get wrong, memorise the mark scheme, you'll soon see a pattern

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 5
oh, i do edexcel

:five: I do edexcel too. So when are you taking your exams?
Original post by Reshyna
:five: I do edexcel too. So when are you taking your exams?

oh really !! AS or A2???
i do international edexcel (IAL) so im setting unit 4 this jan and unit 5 and 6 in may/june. already did 1,2,3 last year, wbu?
Reply 7
i'm taking them on the 8th of may and the 15th of may!
(edited 7 years ago)
Reply 8
oh really !! AS or A2???
i do international edexcel (IAL) so im setting unit 4 this jan and unit 5 and 6 in may/june. already did 1,2,3 last year, wbu?

A2!! i will be sitting for papers 4 and 5 in may 2017!
Reply 9
Thank youu! good luck with your studies and exams too!
Reply 10
Original post by lovelybow
Do lots of past papers. For questions that you get wrong, memorise the mark scheme, you'll soon see a pattern

Posted from TSR Mobile

sounds helpful, thanks a lot!
I do edexcel and am giving unit 4 in jan all i can say is know ur concept deeply and practice
For Flip sake, Don't tell me they bring those cursed questions: "You will be assessed on using good english" :angry: