The Student Room Group

How to get involved Medical research

Hi

I'm currently studying medicine and am really keen on learning how to carry out audits and clinical research so that i can get the exposure to research before my intercalation.

How do I go about getting this Experiance?
I have asked tutors and they have said go up to doctors and ask them if I could help them with an audit. But I feel that is way too intrusive.

Could anyone help me ?
Its not too intrusive. With audits especially, often there are rather boring ones being forced on juniors and your help (offered to either the juniors or consultants) would be appreciated.

Hospitals generally have an audit department which monitors all the audits going on. I've not heard of people getting audits by directly asking them but... maybe?

Alternatively you can try to come up with your own ideas, but that's difficult if you aren't on the wards as much as the doctors/other staff are.
Email doctors directly asking if they have any projects that you could get involved in (find their emails online/hospital websites/university websites)! Look at researchgate/google to see if they publish a lot - those who publish a lot are more likely to be engaged in research.

Email more than one person, as many will ignore your emails too! The keen ones/those active in research will reply if they need extra help.

It has worked quite well for me.
Reply 3
Original post by Vashappeninkira
Hi

I'm currently studying medicine and am really keen on learning how to carry out audits and clinical research so that i can get the exposure to research before my intercalation.

I have asked tutors and they have said go up to doctors and ask them if I could help them with an audit. But I feel that is way too intrusive.

Could anyone help me ?