The Student Room Group

how examiners capped mathematically 40%

Hello everyone

I am a student at the University of Bedfordshire and I retook an exam.I completed two questions out of five with full references plus a presentation. I passed in presentation but I failed in 38% in this assignment. I believe my writing style was appropriate and unfairly marked, and here raises the question of how they capped mathematically 40% in a well-written assignment.

thank you
Reply 1
How many questions were you supposed to answer?
Look at the rubric for the exam and the markscale/grade descriptors to find out how marks are awarded.
I can see why you failed. Your English is terrible and your writing makes little sense.
I thought retakes getting capped were normal. My uni for example caps retake scores at 50%.

If you got 38%, that means you didn't hit the 40% cap anyway. Not that they reduced your marks or something. However if you disagree with your score then you'd have to contact the uni I'm guessing.
Unfortunately it's a common practice - I resat an exam this summer which was worth about 60-70% but was capped at 40%.
Did you pass the module/year overall? As long as you did and the assignment wasn't pass to progress you should be fine
Reply 5
has been required to complete two questions out of five.
Reply 6
Original post by yudothis
I can see why you failed. Your English is terrible and your writing makes little sense.

Thanks for your sympathetic comment.. you made my day
have a lovely day :wink:
Reply 7
The marker will have given an academic mark for the piece of work according to their academic judgement. The marker doesn't apply any capping -- if they think the work deserves (say) 63%, then that's what they give it.