The Student Room Group

Studying medicine with mental health problems?

So, I’m a prospective medical student who is currently in Year 13 with interviews completed. I’m hoping to start studying medicine next year but am worried for my mental health. I think I have had mental health problems for about 5 years but I have never told anyone. This has included (suspected) depression to eating disorders (Despite never being diagnosed, I am attempting to identify any disorders through my symptoms.)

I have never disclosed any of this to any friends or family members, never mind a doctor so it terrifies me to ask for help but recently I have been so close to suicide that, for the sake of the people around me, I think that I should ask for help. However, the main reason that I have never reached out in the past is due to concern as to how this would affect my prospects as a medical student (mixed with how my family would react). I have tried to find solid information on what is done in a situation like this but everything is very vague online, as though they don’t want you to know what could happen. It seems as though it could be hard for me to get anywhere since I could be considered to be a risk to myself and/or to patients.

I understand that medical school is a very stressful place to be and therefore half of me wants to try and sort out my issues prior to getting there but another half of me is scared to death of whether I would even be allowed to study medicine or practice as a doctor if people know how my mental health is. I realise that the sensible thing to do in this situation is to put my health first and let my career fall into place once that is fixed, but honestly being a doctor means everything to me and the idea that one day I could be one is the only thing that is keeping me going at this point.

Any advice would be much appreciated and especially any information about what actually happens when a medical student has mental health problems. Thanks x