The Student Room Group

Last minute application PGCE Design Technology?!

Hello!

I've been thinking about training to teach DT at secondary school level for a while now, and finally made up my mind to go for it. I thought I'd left it too late now to apply for 2019 intake but I found out super recently that it's not quite too late yet, so I'm keen to apply now and get on the course ASAP if I can - of course I will wait until 2020 if I have to but I'd much rather get on with it now I've made up my mind for sure!

However, I'm not sure if my application will be good enough - I don't actually have an A Level or GCSE in Design Technology (my school didn't offer it properly) but my degree was in Animation, which consisted obviously of a lot of design work, including 3D design courses and modules.

I have good grades (all As) in my A Levels and GCSEs (including maths and english GCSE) but I'm not sure if that means much... I graduated a few years ago and a Masters degree but it's in an unrelated subject (of course I have a lot of transferable skills which I know would be really useful, but on paper it just doesn't look very relevant to teaching or design!)...

I have 1 day of experience in a secondary school observing DT lessons and 1 day of experience in a primary school where I helped teach a themed day on Art/Design and I've passed the Eng/Maths skills tests, but I don't know if this is enough experience to show that I'm really serious about teaching. However, as it's now the summer hols I'm a bit stuck in terms of getting more school experience! I saw some training courses don't start until late September so I guess my hope is that maybe I get a conditional offer and can squeeze in some more school experience before I start.