The Student Room Group

Disgruntled final year student

I'm in final year of my degree and i'm full of so much regret.

I didn't have any friends in high school, so i mainly distracted myself with academics. I was really hopeful for the future and looking forward to studying a degree i both enjoyed and was good at in university. i was also hoping I might make a friend or two but thriving in my career was my main priority and my main source of excitement for the future. When application season came round my parents chose my degree for me. The first few months of first year was alright because i was still excited about studying in university for the first time, but about 4/5 months in I was hit with the unsettling feeling of wondering why I wasn't happy. Whenever I tried to vent my frustrations I was told "just stick with it, you'll like it eventually", "nobody likes their job anyways, just deal with it", or "it's a really good course, literally anyone would be lucky to be in your shoes". And so I stuck it out and my mental health became progressively worse each year. I was always jealous of my classmates that genuinely enjoyed the course and found it interesting. When you enjoy your degree or at least tolerate it it's easier to motivate yourself to be top of your class, or research new things outside the curriculum and be really excited for the future. The loneliness and loathing of my degree resulted in me trying to talk myself off the ledge a number of times.