The Student Room Group

Good Universities for MSc in Aerospace Engineering

I am currently applying for a master's in aerospace engineering in the UK and wanted to know of any good universities other than the well-known ones(Manchester, Southampton, Imperial, Cranfield). And also I want to know from the above four, how would you rank the universities from best to worst, factoring in academics, industrial reach, and career options post universities. Thank You
Original post by rockhopper231
I am currently applying for a master's in aerospace engineering in the UK and wanted to know of any good universities other than the well-known ones(Manchester, Southampton, Imperial, Cranfield). And also I want to know from the above four, how would you rank the universities from best to worst, factoring in academics, industrial reach, and career options post universities. Thank You

Hey rockhopper231!

I'm a PhD student at Cranfield and I also did my Masters here, both in SATM (School of Aerospace, Transport, and Manufacturing).
Have you looked at our blogs? They're mostly written by students so you can get an idea of what it's like to study here: https://blogs.cranfield.ac.uk/category/aerospace

Cranfield is unique in that we have our own airport and aeroplane, which is used as "flying laboratory". We also have lots of ties to industry, with plenty of visits to and from aerospace companies (lockdown pending, of course!). This means there's a lot of great networking opportunities which can be really helpful when looking for employment after graduation.
Of course we also have a dedicated careers service that runs regular employability training and can also help with things like writing a CV or prepping for an interview.

This year we're due to open DARTeC, which is a new centre for digital aviation research, so there's lots of exciting advances in our facilities and offerings: https://www.cranfield.ac.uk/centres/digital-aviation-research-and-technology-centre