The Student Room Group
University of Oxford, Pawel-Sytniewski
University of Oxford
Oxford

Imperial or Oxford or Cambridge

Hi, I am an international student. I have received offers to study the MSc in Mathematical and Theoretical Physics at Oxford, Part III Applied Maths at Cambridge and a fully funded PhD in Mathematics at Imperial. The part III and the MSc course have some advanced modules which attracted me in the first place. But this late in the admission cycle I dont think I will receive any funding for both the MSc and part III.
Is it worth taking a student loan to study at Oxford or Cambridge? My main motivators here are the options both the courses offer and the academic level at Oxford/Cambridge in Theoretical Physics. The final aim would be to do a PhD in the future.
Thanks
Hi,

Well done on your offers, they are fantastic! You've clearly worked hard for those.

Okay, so here is my two-pence worth. I studied for an MPhil in Medieval History at Cambridge from 2017-2018, and it was the best decision of my life. However, being completely honest, the content you learn at either Ox or Cam is no different really to any other university, so in terms of what you're going to learn it'll all be pretty similar, I'd imagine.

So the big question is: what experience do you want to have? Oxbridge offers you a chance to do things you wouldn't normally get to do, such as dine at formal halls and May balls, and you will always belong to the Oxbridge community for the rest of your life, which is a wonderful community to be in. With Imperial, you would, of course, be in the heart of London and have all the joys that brings, but don't forget that Cambridge is a short train from London and you can pop back and forth to the capital on weekends, if you fancy little trips out. Oxford is also not far from London.

Imperial = a big, sprawling city that is go-go-go 24/7, where you will be at the heart of the capital and all its glory