The Student Room Group

Help me choose a uni for game arts course

Hello I'm Juan.

I was looking for the best uni to get into for games art.

My main five choices are:

1.-Teesside University: They have both games art and concept art degrees, and from what I've seen their material seems up to date. Also teesside is up to the north and I know it will be cheaper to live there.

2-Hertfordshire University: I think this is the Uni with most renown for games art in the UK but I'm not sure If I will be able to get in. Aside from being an EU student, my grades aren't super high and my portfolio is okay'ish. But they seem to be looking for already high lvl artists to help them grow.

3.- Staffordshire Uni: Again like teesside a very cheap place and from what I'ive seen in the interviews for the course, the guy has a good idea of video games and 3d and it's not some random history professor talking about games art. Their course material looks pretty good to me.

4.-Norwich University for the Arts: Again like Hertfordshire they have tons of renown and have a fair each year about games design and art, I believe this is huge because of the networking possibilties. But also like the former, I'm not sure if I will be able to get in.

5.-Manchester Metropolitan Uni: From the students work that i've seen, it seems pretty good, but it's not my main choice honestly.

I've researched quite a bit and could not really find other good courses(inform me if I'm wrong). The other universities seem very lazy and a cash grab of a course. The student work in the others seems to be pretty weak, and the course description shows that they don't even know what they are talking about.
Hi @axexxl4

I hope you're able to get some impartial feedback that's useful to you on Games Art for your uni choices.

One of our Games Art students (Juliette) is available on Unibuddy if you had any specific questions about our course.