The Student Room Group
Student in halls, University of Hull
University of Hull
Kingston-upon-Hull
Visit website

ADHD, autism and dyslexia support

Hi I have an offer to study BSc Geography at Hull in 2023.

I want to know about the ADHD, autism and dyslexia support available? And the opinions of it from a student perspective.

Is support easily accessible? Are they accommodating? Are there peer groups available? Are there mentors/counsellors available to talk to regularly and support you? What can you use your DSA for? What support can you access on a student support plan?

This is kind of my deciding factor between unis so I'm curious to know as much as I can. Thanks
Hii. I'm applying for Hull too but I can't directly answer your question. However, I have been in touch with some of my future lecturers and they're super lovely and have answered all my questions. My advise would be to try and see if you can find any emails of the geography/humanities departments and ask them directly. Also, they have contact numbers/emails on their website too so they could help! Hope these links help too:

https://www.hull.ac.uk/choose-hull/student-life/student-support/disabled-students-allowance#:~:text=Disabled%20Students%20Allowance%20(DSA)%20is,cause%20disruption%20to%20your%20studies

https://www.hull.ac.uk/choose-hull/student-life/student-support (on this link they have different sections, one being 'disability, inclusion and learning differences'

Hope this helps :smile:
Student in halls, University of Hull
University of Hull
Kingston-upon-Hull
Visit website
Original post by xtmrl
Hi I have an offer to study BSc Geography at Hull in 2023.

I want to know about the ADHD, autism and dyslexia support available? And the opinions of it from a student perspective.