The Student Room Group

Imperial vs UoT (Masters)

Hello everyone,

I do not know which university to go to. I have recieved an offer from Imperial College London ( MSc Finance and Accounting) and the University of Toronto (Mastesr in Financial Risk Management). Some background: I studied a BSc in Business Management from KCL and am currently working in an algo trading firm in London. After my masters, I want to work at a job (IB/Equity Research/ S&T) that maximizes my earnings because I want to save up money to start my own firm in my home country (Africa) in ~5-6 years. I also want to get Canadian citizenship before returning home.

Rotman Route:
1. The Rotman program has a 3 month co-op which will allow me to gain experience. I will also have the opportunity to network in person to try and secure a job right after graduating.
2. The MFRM program content seems highly interesting and is quantitatively rigorous. Classmates seem smart and so are the professors (ex. John C. Hull).

Imperial Route:
1. Imperial has a higher ranking (ranked 6-10 worldwide I believe).
2. I will be staying with my girlfriend of 2 years who is studying math at KCL. We have plans of moving together to Canada some day but she still has 2 years before she finishes her degree.

Imperial Cons:
I won't be able to get a job in London after graduating unless I get sponsored. The reason being I have already used my graduate visa. Usually only top multinationals like Goldman, JPM, BAML, etc.. sponsor students & I haven't secured a summer with any of them.
I will have to go to Canada the hard way. I can apply for jobs in Canada while studying at Imperial but I don't know how much success I will have. I can also go through the Express Entry route to get Canadian permanent residency before applying to jobs. (I am also fluent in French: Can take IELTS/TCF & score high).

Any constructive input will be highly helpful. I have 3 weeks to make my decision. Thanks in advance.
Reply 1