The Student Room Group

St Dominic's Sixth form College

hi guys i'm in year 11 rn and have just been accepted into the sixth forms for st doms and the school i'm currently doing my gcses at and am predicted ten grade 9s and one grade 8. for anyone who's at st doms right now, how is it? i've heard mixed reviews but i loved how the school looked, the way it was organised, the independence and how friendly all the staff and students were when i went to its open evening.
i really want to get into oxford and get 4A*s in my a levels to do astrophysics. my a-level choices rn are physics, maths, further maths and computer science so if any of you are studying these at st doms, how are the departments and how good is the teaching for each overall?
thanks sm :smile:
(edited 10 months ago)

Scroll to see replies

Hi, I'm studying Maths, Physics Chemistry at the moment and i can tell you that they are very hard subjects, but not as hard as many people intended, I mainly got grades 6-8 in my GCSE's and I'm finding them ok, but i believe you should find them much easier with your grades, besides, it's more based on effort and independent learning, so you should spend 1.5 hours outside of school for every hour you spend inside of school doing revision, and that excludes homework unfortunately, however, with those grades, I believe you can easily do 4 A Levels.
Reply 2
ah thank you!! how is physics? i hear it's one of the hardest of the STEM a-levels to do which is pretty intimidating but hopefully it's not too bad good luck for your a-levels :smile:
Original post by nayana_s
ah thank you!! how is physics? i hear it's one of the hardest of the STEM a-levels to do which is pretty intimidating but hopefully it's not too bad good luck for your a-levels :smile: