The Student Room Group

BTEC IT level 3 unit 11 Cyber Security

Hi everyone,

I'm currently studying for the BTEC IT Level 3 Unit 11 Cyber Security Exam, which is coming up in May. I was wondering if anyone else here is taking the same exam, and if so, if they have any tips or strategies for preparing for it.

Personally, I've been reviewing the course materials, practicing past papers, and researching online to deepen my understanding of the topics. However, I'm still finding some aspects of the exam challenging and would appreciate any advice or support from fellow students.

If you're also taking the exam or have taken it in the past and have any insights to share, please feel free to reply to this post. Let's support each other in achieving success in this exam!

Thank you.

Scroll to see replies

I took it in January and recently got back my grade which was a Distinction.

My best advice? Get around 10 threats minimum, and start to expand in detail as you go through the activities (my memory is foggy as it's been a good few nights of sleep since sitting this exam). Activity 3 was where I flunked but also where I would suggest students taking part 1 to work on the most, and not to spend too much time on the others as this. Make sure to calculate how much you actually spend on each activity, as you don't want to mess up time management.

Don't include a completely new threat if you won't mention it in the other activities (unless this is activity 1 for Part A, or activity 4 for Part B - I believe). Being consistent is key to getting grades and linking back to the scenario, don't derail.

When it comes to concluding what caused the cyber attack - do not stick to just one answer! This was my favourite piece of advice given by a tutor after I asked, is there actually a way to conclude what could've caused the cyber attack.