The Student Room Group

Applying for Cyber Sec

Hi all

I'm a BTEC Student currently applying for 2024/2025, and I'm looking at a variety of universities. Does anyone have any experience with applying for Warwick at BTEC level?

I'm aiming for Distinction x3 (might throw a star in there) in a BTEC Extended Diploma in Information & Technology, applying for Cyber Security with a 5 in Maths & Comp Sci and a 7 in English Language at GSCE.

If anyone has any reccs about good unis for Cyber Security please send them my way!
Original post by Moshimoo
Hi all

I'm a BTEC Student currently applying for 2024/2025, and I'm looking at a variety of universities. Does anyone have any experience with applying for Warwick at BTEC level?

I'm aiming for Distinction x3 (might throw a star in there) in a BTEC Extended Diploma in Information & Technology, applying for Cyber Security with a 5 in Maths & Comp Sci and a 7 in English Language at GSCE.

If anyone has any reccs about good unis for Cyber Security please send them my way!

I don't have experience applying to uni with BTEC nor did I studied cybersecurity. However, if you want to do cyber security at uni, then I would recommend getting a NCSC certified degree as opposed to any cybersecurity degree. See:
https://www.ncsc.gov.uk/information/ncsc-certified-degrees#section_3
Reply 2
Original post by MindMax2000
I don't have experience applying to uni with BTEC nor did I studied cybersecurity. However, if you want to do cyber security at uni, then I would recommend getting a NCSC certified degree as opposed to any cybersecurity degree. See:
https://www.ncsc.gov.uk/information/ncsc-certified-degrees#section_3

I didn't know about this! Thank you! Leeds Beckett just went up the list haha
Hey! Bit late, but I'm in the same boat. Predicted D*D*D in L3 ED IT.