The Student Room Group

Is this fair?

I work in a small creative team. My manager gives my colleagues more work which requires more responsibility because they have more experience than me - I respect that!

I‘ve noticed their behaviours change, thinking that they‘re better than me and they can boss me around.

I‘m not given much work because I have little experience, even though I‘ve asked all the time for something to do. I‘m just feel left with nothing... this has really lowered my confidence and I have really low self esteem issues.

I have a lot of strengths, and I know, I can do great things.

I have no one to reach out to because my boss is away on leave.

I don‘t want to compare,everyone is always prasing my colleagues, because they have work to show and I honestly have nothing!

Its a dream company to be in, but I have thought about leaving at times

It‘s really hard and I do get emotional sometimes.

Management is focussing on my colleagues more than to me, I hope I don‘t sound selfish

I don‘t know what to do :‘(
Reply 1
You need to raise your concerns with your line manager, express how you're feeling regarding work load and that you'd like to be involved more so that you can get that necessary experience to progress. You mentioned that they are away at the moment, send them an email saying something along the lines of:

Hi [manager]

I hope you're having a lovely time away.
I would like to schedule in some time to review my progress so far and some long term goals when you're back, can we make a firm plan to meet when you return?

[your desired sign off and name]