The Student Room Group

I’m realising that I don’t like my uni or my degree at all

I’m a first year law student (law with french law) at Oxford uni and I’m slowly realising that I don’t like my degree or my uni at all.

I would have said that I’m “passionate” about law but I found it pretty interesting before coming to uni, now I’d be more likely to say I actively dislike it. I find reading the cases and articles extremely boring and I struggle to get past the facts. I usually just end up using one of those summary websites like lawprof or lawteacheronline. I also couldn’t imagine myself in any legal profession and don’t think I’d be good at them. I’m not a good public speaker, I’m quite shy/socially anxious and I really don’t do well in debate type situations. I also find the research aspect far too boring to be able to successfully do it as a career.

I am also not currently doing very well with my degree. My average scores are around 62-67, which is a fairly low-mid 2:1. I had mods last term and my scores were 66,66, and 64. The only post mods assignment I’ve had back was 63. I know I’m unlikely to break that mid sixties barrier unless I put a lot more work in but I find it extremely difficult to motivate myself to do it more than two hour blocks as I don’t like the subject.

I know that with a low level 2:1 I won’t really be qualified for any good jobs and most good masters degrees require at least a high 2:1 so there’s not really much possibility of me furthering my studies or getting a good job. I always liked/was passionate about languages at school/college and I’m naturally good at them (far better than I am at law) but I was reluctant to study a language degree because of the career prospects but now I’m slightly realising that I’ve made a huge mistake as a first class language degree would be much better than the measly 2:1 I will have in law.