The Student Room Group

Is grade 7 in gcse a good grade and how hard is it to get it?

I am a year 8 student going into year 9, and I will be starting my gcse courses at St Olave's Grammar School, and I really wanted to know that what grade is considered a good grade? People say that a grade 7 will be considered a good grade, but how hard is it to get a grade 7? Roughtly what percentage do you need to get in order to get a grade 7 in gcse? And I'm aiming to get grade 8 or above in every subject I'm studying, any advice on how to get a good start since I'm only in year 8?
Reply 1
Around 26% got a 7 and above in 2022 based on an online article I found. For maths in particular the 2022 grade boundaries give a 7 if you get 57%. It varies from subject to subject but a Grade 7 will be around 60%. You are in just going into Year 9 and I'm sure you are capable of getting 9s too. You have a long while to revise. I only really started revising at the start of Y11 and managed to get pretty good grades.
My advice: Listen in lesson, do homework, enjoy yourself and don't mess around in lessons too much!! :smile:
Reply 2
Original post by Maxi2009
I am a year 8 student going into year 9, and I will be starting my gcse courses at St Olave's Grammar School, and I really wanted to know that what grade is considered a good grade? People say that a grade 7 will be considered a good grade, but how hard is it to get a grade 7? Roughtly what percentage do you need to get in order to get a grade 7 in gcse? And I'm aiming to get grade 8 or above in every subject I'm studying, any advice on how to get a good start since I'm only in year 8?